Blythe Education for The Boyfriend Weblog

January 21, 2008

Sparkly Eye Make Up for Blythe

Filed under: My Little Customization Tips — theblythemummy @ 3:36 am

I just thought that I would give a short, quick tutorial on how to give your dollies sparkly eye make up. I have been asked this question by a couple of people after they saw Sasha with her her brand new sparkly eye make up.  

One of the reasons why I like AE was the lack of make up on her face. She had looked so quiet and understated with just her cheek and lip colors. However, I cannot connect with her like my other dollies. I do not feel her personality at all. Perhaps it’s due to the fact that she was a present. Even though I had badly wanted her, I simply cannot connect.She has morphed to be a Fairy Godmother like presence amongst my dolls over time. It probably has to do with the fact that she was given to me as a present to cheer me up. So somehow it seems like she has taken on the same role to my other dolls.  Since she’s the Fairy God mother, she has to look like one.

My idea of an angel or fairy god mother is one with ethereal beauty. She needs to look like she is radiating from within and it was with this in mind that prompted me to give her sparkly eye dust. Here’show she looks now.

picture-8.png 

To achieve this, you need eye dust from any make up store and gloss varnish. I sprinkled a first layer of eye dust onto her eyelids and sealed it with varnish. Before the varnish dries, I sprinkle another layer on so that it will adhere onto the varnish. I wait for a little while before sealing that layer of eye dust with yet another layer of varnish. Depending on the intensity you would like to achieve, keep repeating the steps above and sealing the final layer with the gloss varnish.Do take note to keep checking the smoothness of the close eye function while you layer on. (Make sure the gloss is dry when you do this because you do not want to ruin her make up!) If you pile on the eye dust and varnish too thickly, it does get into the way of the close eye function and you will find that the eyes will not close as smoothly.  

I hope this post will be helpful to those who wants to achieve the same effect for their dolls. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.    

2 Comments »

  1. Very nifty tutorial! I think I shall try this. Thank you for sharing the info!

    Comment by willynillywaterlily — January 21, 2008 @ 9:03 pm

  2. hey! where did you get the gloss varnish from? and what brand? im from sing too:p

    xoxoxo
    mel

    Comment by melanie — January 22, 2008 @ 5:44 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

